Action Sports 3 years ago

Shock as Jeremy Flores wins Billabong Pro Tahiti

  • Shock as Jeremy Flores wins Billabong Pro Tahiti

(Published 19.30PT) This time last year, Jeremy Flores was an angry surfer, suspended after the third round of the J-Bay Open. But this year at the Billabong Pro Tahiti, the Frenchman stopped Gabriel Medina from being the only surfer in history to win back-to-back events at Teahupo’o. 

Flores was determined to have the upper hand early on, his skull fracture sustained last month not hindering him one bit. In the brutal conditions, Flores earned a massive 9.87 after a steep drop into a barrel and impressive exit. 

    Medina just couldn't find decent waves to counter Flores. With so many Brazilians left in the last few rounds, no one would've expected a French competitor to win. He'd earlier beaten Kelly Slater too, so that's saying something. 

You might also like

Earlier, another story had everyone's attention. Despite Flores defeating CJ Hobgood in the semis, Hobgood walked away, head held high, with the Andy Irons Award. Given to the most determined and committed surfer in the event, Hobgood will retire on a good note.

Adriano De Souza remains the leader in the Jeep ratings leaderboard, as no world title contender was able to capitalize in Tahiti. The “disappointed” Owen Wright would've replaced him if he'd advanced to the final.


Winter Games NZ - the official start to the season is here

As we take another break at the Billabong Pro Tahiti...

DewTour LA - the unstoppable Hoefler and Decenzo's comeback

Dew Tour LA -Hoefler and Lopez are on a roll

DewTour LA. Welcome home - Vert highlights

USA - their rep is intact. 2015 FINA World Champs

USA is back on top - 2015 FINA World Champs

Can Team USA get their spark back? 2015 FINA World Champs

Vans US open Surfing and Van Doren Invitational end with upset wins

Catch up on Vans US Open and Van Doren Invitational

0 1
please wait...